Call for Presentations 2017



Florida Gulf Coast University, Ft. Myers, Florida, March 3-4, 2017

Keynote Speaker: David Huron (Ohio State University)

Graduate Student Workshop Leader: J. Daniel Jenkins (University of South Carolina)

Come join us in sunny Florida during the height of spring training (the Minnesota Twins and Boston Red Sox both play spring ball in Ft. Myers). In your free time, you can take in a game and/or enjoy the sandy shores of the Gulf of Mexico!

The program committee solicits proposals for presentations, special sessions, lecture-demonstrations, or panel discussions on any topic related to music theory, analysis, or music theory pedagogy. Proposals should be for 20-minute presentations or 60- or 90-minute special sessions.

As part of the conference, graduate students are invited to apply for a workshop entitled “Public Music Theory” to be led by Dr. J. Daniel Jenkins (University of South Carolina).

 11:59 PM EST, Monday, December 12, 2016. Confirmation of proposals received will be made electronically upon their receipt. Authors will be notified electronically of the Program Committee’s decision by Monday, January 23, 2017.

 Proposals and abstracts should be sent via e-mail as .pdf attachments. Put all cover letter information in the body of your e-mail, and attach the proposal as a separate .pdf file. No other electronic format will be accepted. Please be sure that your name does not appear in the .pdf file, even as metadata. Individuals may submit a maximum of two proposals, but no author will have more than one paper selected for the final program. Send submissions to with the subject line: “MTSE 2017 Proposal.” Include the following in your e-mail:

  1. A proposal of no more than 500 words, including any footnotes or endnotes. (Each mathematical equation may be counted as one word.) A maximum of four pages of supplementary materials (such as musical examples, diagrams, and selected bibliography) may be appended; these pages will not be counted within the 500-word limit, but captions should be brief, not appreciably augmenting either the word count or the proposal’s content.
  2. The proposal must include the title of the paper but exclude the author’s name and any other identifying information. References to the author’s own work must occur in the third person. Proposals for panel discussions or other special session formats should include individual proposals for each segment of the session, along with a separate session proposal (no more than 500 words) that explains the overall content and organization.
  3. A cover letter, written as the body of your e-mail, that includes the author’s name, paper title(s), institutional affiliation or city of residence, phone number(s), and e-mail address. (Special sessions or panel discussions should also include a list of all participants, along with their contact information.)

The Society will present an award for the best student presentation at the 2016 meeting. To be eligible for consideration, interested students should identify themselves in the cover letter and, if their proposals are accepted, must submit a PDF of their complete paper to by Monday, February 29, 2016. Winners from previous years are ineligible.

GRADUATE STUDENT WORKSHOP: “Public Music Theory,” Prof. J. Daniel Jenkins, University of South Carolina.

Students in music theory and related fields may submit, via e-mail, a 200-word statement detailing their interest in and prior experience (if any) with the topic of the workshop. In addition, we ask that a faculty member at your own or another institution send the program chair a brief e-mail confirming your enrollment in a degree program in music theory (or related field) and vouching for your ability to work collegially and willingness to participate actively in the workshop. The deadline for workshop applications is the same as the submission deadline given above for proposal submissions. Send e-mail submissions for the Graduate Student Workshop to MTSE Secretary at with the subject line “MTSE 2017 Workshop.”

Program Committee

Juan Chattah, Chair (University of Miami)
Michael Buchler, MTSE President (Florida State University)
Laura Emmery (Emory University)
Stephen Gosden (University of North Florida)
Gilad Rabinovitch (Georgia State University)
Daniel Thompson, 2016 Student Paper Award Winner (Florida State University)

Local Arrangements

Christopher Endrinal (Florida Gulf Coast University)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s