2023 Conference CFP



University of Georgia
March 10–11th, 2023

Graduate Student Workshop Leader:
Dr. Leigh Van Handel (University of British Columbia)

The program committee solicits proposals for presentations, special sessions, lecture-demonstrations, or panel discussions on any topic related to music theory, analysis, or music theory pedagogy. Proposals should be for the equivalent of 20-minute presentations or 60-minute special sessions. As part of the conference, graduate students are invited to apply for a workshop led by Dr. Leigh VanHandel.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: 11:59 p.m. EST December 15, 2022.

Confirmation of proposals received will be made electronically upon their receipt. Authors will be notified electronically of the Program Committee’s decision by January 3, 2023.

SUBMISSION FORMAT: Proposals should be submitted to the online Google form as .pdfattachments. No other electronic format will be accepted. The proposal must include the title of the paper but exclude the author’s name and any other identifying information. References to the author’s own work must occur in the third person. Please be sure that your name does not appear in the .pdf file, even as metadata. Individuals may submit no more than one proposal. 

The proposal must be no more than 500 words, including any footnotes or endnotes. (Each mathematical equation may be counted as one word.) A maximum of four pages of supplementary materials (such as musical examples, diagrams, and selected bibliography) may be appended; these pages will not be counted within the 500-word limit, but captions should be brief, not appreciably augmenting either the word count or the proposal’s content. The proposal and supplementary materials should be included in a single .pdf attachment.

Proposals for panel discussions or other special session formats should include individual proposals for each segment of the session, along with a separate session proposal (no more than 500 words) that explains the overall content and organization. These materials should be combined into a single .pdf attachment. In the optional comments section on the Google form, please provide a list of all participants, with their contact information.

Here is the link to the Google formhttps://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeWlxyUN2-nuh6okIUTV-UpH-S01jde0MV0yrEMLYiTYjaXrA/viewform?usp=sf_link

IRNA PRIORE PRIZE FOR STUDENT RESEARCH: The Society will present an award for the best student presentation at the 2023 meeting. To be eligible for consideration, students should reply YES to the question in the Google form and, if their proposals are accepted, must submit a PDF of their complete paper to the Program Committee Chair (Alexander Martin; amartin17@stetson.edu) by Monday, March 6. Winners from previous years are ineligible.

GRADUATE STUDENT WORKSHOP: Students in music theory and related fields may submit, via e-mail, a 200-word statement detailing their interest in the workshop (to be held on Saturday morning, March 10). In addition, we ask that a faculty member at your own or another institution send the program chair a brief e-mail confirming your enrollment in a degree program in music theory (or related field) and vouching for your ability to work collegially and willingness to participate actively in the workshop. To apply, send this information to the Program Committee Chair (Alexander Martin; amartin17@stetson.edu) with the subject line “MTSE 2023 Workshop.” The deadline to apply is Tuesday, February 21.

Program Committee:

Alexander Martin, Chair (Stetson University)
Laura Emmery, MTSE President (Emory University)
Alan Elkins, 2022 Irna Priore Prize for Student Research Winner (Florida State University)
David Geary (Wake Forest University)
Emily Gertsch (University of Georgia)
Jason Solomon (Agnes Scott College)

Local Arrangements:
Dickie Lee (University of Georgia)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s